Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Sections | CTSOs | Education Links | Search | FAQ

Washington Association for Career and Technical Education

July 21, 2017 - 11:54 pm
only search WA-ACTE

Legislative News

The WASHINGTON ACTE LEGISLATOR OF THE YEAR AWARD is presented to recognize legislators who have made a contribution of state significance to Career and Technical Education.


2015 & 2014 Legislator of the Year

Senator Christine Rolfes – 23rd Legislative District

Senator Christine Rolfes is the Democratic floor leader and state senator from the 23rd Legislative District, including the Kitsap County communities of Hansville, Kingston, Poulsbo, Bainbridge Island, Keyport, Silverdale, and East Bremerton.  She has fought to advance legislation reflecting the common-sense values of the 23rd District since 2007, serving in the House of Representatives until her appointment to the Senate on July 20, 2011.  In addition to serving as Senate minority floor leader, she also sits on the Early Learning and K-12 Education, Rules, and Ways & Means committees.  Her leadership advocating for small businesses, downtown revitalization, ferry reform, military-families and veterans, and public education has yielded tangible results for Washington families.


rivers2015 & 2013 Legislator of the Year

Senator Ann Rivers18th Legislative District

Senator Ann Rivers became the 18th Legislative District’s state senator in mid-2012 after Joseph Zarelli decided to step down after 17 years of service.  It was a straightforward transition for her and for the people of her district, as she had been serving them already in the House of Representatives.  In November 2012 the voters elected her to a full four-year term in the Senate.  She is not only a member of the Senate Republican Caucus (she serves on its leadership team, as the whip), but also the Senate Majority Coalition Caucus.  The MCC, composed of Republican and Democratic senators, is built around a set of shared principles and committed to governing in a more inclusive and bipartisan way.  She serves on the Senate Transportation Committee, Senate Early Learning and K-12 Education Committee, Senate Health Care Committee, and Senate Rules Committee.  She is focused on strengthening Washington’s economy, protecting our state’s taxpayers by prioritizing and controlling state spending, offering each child in Washington an opportunity to succeed in school, and making sure the projects Southwest Washington needs for a solid transportation system are moving forward.


Representative Sam Hunt

22nd Legislative District

2014 Legislator of the Year



Representative Monica Stonier

17th Legislative District

2013 Legislator of the Year


Senator Rosemary McAuliffe

1st Legislative District

2012 Legislator of the Year


Representative Tim Probst

17th Legislative District

2012 Legislator of the Year


Senator Nick Harper

38th Legislative District

2011 Legislator of the Year


Representative Luis Moscoso

1st Legislative District

2011 Legislator of the Year