Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Sections | CTSOs | Education Links | Search | FAQ

Washington Association for Career and Technical Education

July 21, 2017 - 11:54 pm
only search WA-ACTE

August 25, 2016, Olympia WA





The Washington Association for Career and Technical Education (WA-ACTE) is pleased to announce the recipients of the Washington ACTE 2016 Excellence Awards.  The award winners were announced during the Awards Breakfast at the Washington ACTE Summer CTE Conference on August 9, 2016, at The Davenport Grand Hotel in Spokane.



The Washington ACTE Teacher of the Year award recognizes the finest Career and Technical Education teachers at the middle/secondary school level who have demonstrated innovation in the classroom, commitment to their students, and dedication to the improvement of CTE in their institutions and communities.


Teacher of the Year

Kathy Hahn
Lake Stevens School District


Kathy Hahn is a Family and Consumer Sciences teacher and FCCLA advisor at Lake Stevens High School in the Lake Stevens School District.  Kathy has been a Washington ACTE member since 1991.



The Washington ACTE Administrator of the Year award recognizes CTE administrators, program specialists/coordinators, and other CTE personnel who have made significant contributions toward innovative, unique, and effective Career and Technical Education programs.


Administrator of the Year

Susan Christenson
Central Valley School District


Susan Christenson is the Director of Career and Technical Education and School & Student Information Systems Support for the Central Valley School District in the Spokane Valley.  Susan has been a Washington ACTE member since 1987.



The Washington ACTE Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes the contributions and distinguished accomplishments of members who have been identified with the work and purposes of the Washington Association for Career and Technical Education over an extended period of time.


Lifetime Achievement Award

Ross Short
Stanwood-Camano School District


Ross Short is the Dean of Students and Assistant CTE Director at Stanwood High School in the Stanwood-Camano School District.  Ross has been a Washington ACTE member since 2002.



Lifetime Achievement Award

Roxanne Trees
Seattle School District


Roxanne Trees is newly retired as the Health & Human Services and Family & Consumer Sciences CTE Specialist with the Seattle School District.  Roxanne has been a Washington ACTE member since 1985 and served two terms as president for 2007-2008 and 2008-2009.  Roxanne was Washington ACTE Administrator of the Year in 2001 and the recipient of the Program Award for Excellence in Teaching in 1996.



The Washington ACTE Career Guidance Award recognizes guidance counselors and career development professionals who have made significant contributions to advocate, educate, and communicate the value of CTE as a viable career option to a variety of audiences in their communities.


Career Guidance Award

Myrna Muto
Seattle School District


Myrna Muto is a CTE Guidance Specialist for the Seattle School District.  Myrna has been a Washington ACTE member since 1986.


The Washington ACTE Community Service Award is presented to members who have used CTE to make a significant impact on a community/humanitarian cause through leadership in programs and activities that promote community involvement.


Community Service Award

Mary Nagel


Mary Nagel is the Family and Consumer Sciences Program Supervisor for the Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction.  Mary has been a Washington ACTE member since 1992.



The Washington ACTE Achieve 100% Membership Award recognizes schools or districts that have 100% Washington ACTE membership participation from each and every member of their Career and Technical Education staff.  The 2016 recipients: Bethel School District, Blaine School District, Clover Park School District, Colville High School, Granger High School, Kahlotus School District, Lynden High School, Moses Lake High School, OSPI CTE Department, Shelton School District, Skykomish High School, Sumner School District, and Yelm Community Schools.



The purpose of the Quality Section Standards (QSS) Award is to provide benchmarks for sections to determine levels of performance and satisfactory service to their members and prospective members.  FACSE is this year’s recipient of the QSS Award.



The Washington ACTE Membership Award recognizes the Washington ACTE section with the highest percentage increase in membership.  WAME is this year’s recipient with a 22% increase in membership.



The Washington ACTE Excellence Awards promote merit in Career and Technical Education (CTE) by recognizing individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to CTE.  Award winners serve as inspirational leaders to Washington ACTE: they embody the core values of serving students and being committed to CTE.  The state winners will progress on to compete at the regional level next year at the ACTE Region V Conference in South Dakota.


The Washington Association for Career and Technical Education is the state’s largest not-for-profit association committed to the advancement of education that prepares youth and adults for successful careers.  Washington ACTE represents the community of CTE professionals including educators, administrators, researchers, guidance counselors, and others at all levels of education.  Washington ACTE is committed to excellence in providing advocacy, public awareness and access to resources, professional development, and leadership opportunities.